SASH Awards | Winners that are Making a Difference

Previous Award Winners of the Annual SASH Awards



The 2020 SASH Merit Award is given to Dr. Stephen Southern, EdD for contributions to SASH as a member of the Board of Directors and long term Editor of SASH’s Sexual Addiction & Compulsivity: The Journal of Prevention and Treatment. In addition to his many contributions to SASH he is licensed as a professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, and psychologist, and has over three decades of clinical experience in marital, couple and family therapy. He has also served as editor of The Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples and Families. He is a fellow in the American Counseling Association.

Michael Seto



The 2020 Carnes Award is given to Michael Seto, PhD. Dr. Seto is Director of Forensic Mental Health Research at the Royal Ottawa Health Care Group. He has dual appointments as Associate Professor of Psychiatry (Faculty of Medicine) and the Psychology Department (Faculty of Social Sciences) at the University of Ottawa. He has appointments at three additional universities: the University of Toronto, Ryerson University, and Carleton University. With a commitment to translate research into practice, his two major lines of research have focused on (1) paraphilias and sexual offending, and (2) mentally disordered offending, violence risk assessment, and forensic program evaluation. He serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Sexual Abuse. Dr. Seto has published extensively on pedophilia, sexual offending, and mentally disordered offenders, and regularly presents at scientific meetings and professional workshops on these topics. He has written well-reviewed books on pedophilia and sexual offending against children (2008) and on internet sex offenders (2013), both published by the American Psychological Association.

Josh Grubbs


The 2020 SASH Research Award is given to Josh Grubbs, PhD for his scholarship in the field of sexual health and compulsive sexual behavior. Dr. Grubbs is an Assistant Professor in the APA Accredited Clinical Psychology Ph.D. program at Bowling Green State University. His research falls primarily into three domains: the scientific study of addiction, personality, and religion (particularly as it relates to addiction and personality). Within the past two years his research has been published in The Journal of Abnormal Psychology, The Journal of Sex Research, The Journal of Sexual Medicine, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Journal of Behavioral Addictions, and SASH’s Sexual Addiction & Compulsivity: The Journal of Prevention & Treatment.

Emily Nagoski


The 2020 SASH Media Award is given to Emily Nagoski, PhD for her New York Times bestselling book Come As You Are and The Come As You Are Workbook. Dr. Nagoski is Wellness Education Director and Lecturer at Smith College, where she teaches Women’s Sexuality. She has a PhD in health behavior with a doctoral concentration in human sexuality from Indiana University, and a master’s degree in counseling, with a clinical internship at the Kinsey Institute Sexual Health Clinic. She has taught graduate and undergraduate classes in human sexuality, relationships and communication, stress management, and sex education.

SASH Merit Award

The annual award is given to a member of SASH who has made exceptional contributions to the organization. The SASH Merit award was first given in 2001 at the SASH Conference in San Diego.

Previous Award Winners: Linda Hudson – 2001 | Joyce Dohanian – 2002 | Elizabeth Griffin – 2003 | Bill Herring – 2004 | Helen Friedman – 2005 | David Bissette – 2006 | Lloyd Hoffspiegel – 2007 | Deb Corley – 2008 | Marlys Oestreich – 2009 | Peggy Woodard – 2010 | Scott Neill – 2010 | Marcia Mosher – 2010 | Margaret Jarvis – 2011 | Joe Amico – 2013 | Marcus Earle – 2015 | John Giugliano-2016 | Allen Flinchum-2017 | Todd Love-2018 | Pat Fahey (posthumously) -2019 | Stephen Southern – 2020

The Carnes Award

First given in 1995 to Dr. Patrick Carnes in acknowledgement of his research and publishing contributions to the field of sex addiction, as well as, his efforts in founding SASH (formerly known as NCSAC). This Award, named in his honor, is now given annually to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of problematic sexual behavior.

Previous Award Winners: Rip Corley – 1996 | Charlotte Kasl – 1997 | Jennifer Schneider – 1998 | Deborah Corley – 1999 | Ralph Earle – 2000 | Mark Schwartz – 2001 | Richard Irons – 2002 | Eli Coleman – 2003 | David Delmonico – 2004 | John Sealy – 2005 | Martha Turner – 2006 | Mark Laaser – 2007 | Rob Weiss – 2008 | Jes Montgomery – 2009 | Marty Kafka – 2010 | Ken Adams – 2011 | Alex Katehakis – 2012 | Douglas Braun-Harvey – 2013 | Wendy Maltz – 2014 | Elizabeth Griffin – 2015 |Stefanie Carnes-2016 | Richard Krueger-2017 | Dr. Barbara Steffens-2018 | Bill Herring-2019 | Dr. Michael Seto-2020

SASH Research Award

This annual award is given to an individual who has made an exceptional research contribution to the field of sexual health and problematic sexual behavior. The first award was given in 2004 posthumously to Dr. Alvin (Al) Cooper.

Previous Award Winners: Dr. Alvin (Al) Cooper – 2004 | Michael Reece – 2005 | Jennifer Schneider – 2007 | David Delmonico – 2009 | Rory Reid – 2012 | Paula Banca-2016 | Marc Potenza-2017 | Dr. Mark Griffiths-2018 | Dr. Kristen Mark-2019 | Joshua Grubbs -2020

SASH Media Award

This annual award is given to an individual(s) or organization that has helped promote the understanding of sexual health or problematic sexual behavior through a book, video, software development or other technological advancements.

Previous Award Winners: Michael Ryan | Drew Pinsky | John Giugliano – 2004 | Tony Ignahni – 2004 | Sue Silverman – 2008 | Bill Swiggart – 2011 | Gary Wilson (Your Brain on Porn) – 2015 | Paula Hall (TEDx Talk) – 2016 | Alexander Rhodes (Creator of NoFap) – 2017 | Dr. Jennifer Schneider(Reflections on the History of the Sex Addiction Field, A Festschrift)-2018 | Staci Sprout (Naked in Public)-2019 | Emily Nagoski (Come as You Are) -2020